Taking Time to Appreciate the Small Things

07/09/2013 § 3 Comments

Over the past few weeks I have had the great opportunity to house sit for a professor out in the country. With no internet or television besides PBS (which I have grown to love) I was forced to slow down and appreciate what was around me. He, himself, has three acres but sites directly adjacent to a lovely couple who has 90+ acres filled with trails, lakes and the simple beauty of nature. They have been generous enough to let me wonder through their land and with the extra time on my hands, that not having internet or cable seems to allow, I have taken full advantage of the experience. I have gone on daily hikes to the lake and taken the time to be silent and appreciate nature and the simple things in life, something I had let slip by in the wake of work and stress.Image

« Read the rest of this entry »

Certified Green

07/09/2013 § 1 Comment

By Rachel Joseph, First Year Experience Intern

Image

One simple change can make a huge difference.

For example, if every US household simply replaced just one incandescent light bulb with a compact fluorescent light bulb (CFL), power plants would decrease their greenhouse gas emissions by 90 billion pounds. That’s a lot of gas.

The simple act of replacing a light bulb with a CFL is one of 48 criteria included in IU’s Green Room Certification Program (GRCP). Complete 20 of these sustainable criteria, and your room is officially Green Certified!

All students living in an IU residence hall can participate in the GRCP and become a part of IU’s thriving culture of sustainability.

Image

« Read the rest of this entry »

Where Am I?

You are currently viewing the archives for Tuesday, July 9th, 2013 at Indiana University Office of Sustainability.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers