Taking Time to Appreciate the Small Things

07/09/2013 § 3 Comments

Over the past few weeks I have had the great opportunity to house sit for a professor out in the country. With no internet or television besides PBS (which I have grown to love) I was forced to slow down and appreciate what was around me. He, himself, has three acres but sites directly adjacent to a lovely couple who has 90+ acres filled with trails, lakes and the simple beauty of nature. They have been generous enough to let me wonder through their land and with the extra time on my hands, that not having internet or cable seems to allow, I have taken full advantage of the experience. I have gone on daily hikes to the lake and taken the time to be silent and appreciate nature and the simple things in life, something I had let slip by in the wake of work and stress.Image

As the summer and my internship have progressed I found myself getting stressed and anxious about the small things, will I complete the projects at work in time, did I contact the right people to get it done, and will my internship have any sustainable impact at the IUHC? During this I forgot to take the time to appreciate the summer, the beauty all around me and the blessings I have been given. Having this time to take a step back has re-installed my love of nature and appreciation of the small things.

As environmentally framed as my mind and work is, I found that I was getting away from ‘why’ I try to live in an environmentally conscious and sustainable manner. I lost sight of the big picture and the love I have for the beauty around me. I lost perspective of what my work means and why I am doing what I am doing. This opportunity brought it back into focus and has reshaped my vision and mission, which is to do what little part I can to ensure that the simple beauties of nature around me are here for generations to come

§ 3 Responses to Taking Time to Appreciate the Small Things

  • afbardal says:

    This is a pleasant companion to what we have read from A Conservationist Manifesto, and re-emphasizes the importance of setting time aside and finding a place to get back in rhythm. Even better is that it reminds us that we don’t need to travel far in order to find this.

  • sbaulac says:

    This is a great reminder to take a step back. I know that my work could benefit from a refreshing stay in nature.

  • angebabb says:

    I’m glad you’ve found time to relax and reconnect with nature! I’ve been asking the same questions of myself, and I’ve been wondering what happened to my summer – it flew by! But as I write my final report, I’ve found that I’ve accomplished quite a lot, and I hope that you find the same. Even in your mistakes and misfortunes, there is a lot to learn.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Taking Time to Appreciate the Small Things at Indiana University Office of Sustainability.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

