Welcome!

Welcome! You’re reading one of the first IUOS Summer 2011 blog posts. I’m Danni McPherron, and I”m the Sustainable Computing Document Management intern. I will be doing a case study of the UITS [University Information Technology Services] move to a larger building, focusing on their transition from a hybrid paper-digital document management system to a (primarily) digital document management system. The purpose of this case study will be to provide the larger university community with a document that outlines the costs, manpower, etc. required to move to a digital document management system.

All introductions and IU acronyms aside, I must say: I have my work cut out for me. That’s not to say I’m not prepared. In fact, I would say it’s quite the opposite situation. I have had my eye on an internship with the IU Office of Sustainability intern program for about a year now. I first heard about the program in an email from SPEA. I began planning to apply for the program as soon as I could.

Even though I’ve only been interning here for a week, I can definitely say that I have already learned a lot and know that this path is the right choice for me. Not only am I learning a lot about sustainability, but I’m surrounded by like-minded people who are also passionate about the same things as I am. It makes my frustrations and confusions less daunting, and I get to meet a lot of interesting new people: fellow interns, my mentors, Bill, Emilie… The list goes on. I know this experience will be very rewarding.

I am curious to see what my thoughts are aon sustainability and this internship at the end of the project. I suspect I will become even more passionate about doing my part and educating others about the importance of preserving today’s resources for tomorrow. Only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

